

2023-2024 Officers. Chair: Alexandru Tupan, Vice-Chair: Logan Kelly, Elections Chair: Yoana Newman, Secretary: Doug Margolis, Academic Staff Council Liaison: Kellen Wells-Mangold

Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda

Date: Wednesday, March 27th, 2024, 3:30-5:00 PM.

Location: Willow River Room, UC 334. Physical attendance is strongly encouraged. Via Zoom, please use the link below.

http://tiny.cc/faculty-senate-meeting

- I. Call to order.
- II. Seating of substitutes.
- III. UWRF land acknowledgment.

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls sits on the shared ancestral lands of the Anishinaabe and the Dakota Nations and Tribal Communities. Acknowledging our university's historical contributions to the disenfranchisement of indigenous communities, we declare a standing commitment toward campus-wide education, increased awareness of current indigenous issues, and the development of sustainable partnerships with indigenous nations of the area.

IV. Chair report

- a. From the Shared Governance Leadership Meeting with the Cabinet: the Deloitte report will not be available before April. Details will be communicated via UBAC.
- b. President Rothman visited our campus on Tuesday, March 12. The meeting with our faculty and staff was recorded and is available at this link.
- c. Trevor Lerum (SGA) informed me that the students have successfully identified a couple of faculty members to write a course proposal for a freedom of speech class---Ryan Fisher in History and Neil Kraus in Political Sciences. He expects this class to start being offered in the Spring of 2025.
- V. Officer reports.
- VI. Approval of old minutes.
 - a. Minutes of 02-21-2024 (AY 2023-2024).
- VII. Consent Agenda

Faculty Senate





2023-2024 Officers. Chair: Alexandru Tupan, Vice-Chair: Logan Kelly, Elections Chair: Yoana Newman, Secretary: Doug Margolis, Academic Staff Council Liaison: Kellen Wells-Mangold

- a. Motion to appoint Doug Margolis as chair of the Faculty Welfare and Personnel Policies Committee (2024-2025). The chair of this committee gets a 3-credit release per year.
- b. Motion to appoint Mialisa Moline to the UWRF Sesquicentennial Organization Committee (Rick Foye, chair). See this <u>invitation email</u>.
- c. Motion to appoint the following three faculty members to the Chancellor's Award for Students Committee.
 - i. Souzeina Moustaq (CAS)
 - ii. Logan Kilburn-Kappeler (CAFES)
 - iii. Irita Mishra (CEBAH)

The appointments are for 2024-2027.

- d. From the APP, motion to approve the MBA program change (CEBAH, graduate). Documents are available here.
- e. From the APP, motion to approve the Business Administration Major program change proposal (CEBAH, undergraduate). Documents are <u>available here</u>.
- f. From APP, motion to approve the Community and Environmental Planning major program change proposal (CAFES, undergraduate). Documents are <u>available here</u>.
- g. From APP, motion to approve the Early Childhood Degree Completion program change proposal (CEBAH, undergraduate). Documents are available here.
- h. From the APP, motion to approve the Computer Science and Information System major program change (CAS). Documents are <u>available here</u>.

VIII. New Business.

- a. Joe Kmiech (CIO) and Paige Miller (Technology Committee chair) will talk about 1) the draft of DoTS' revised strategic plan and 2) upcoming changes to classroom teaching technology.
- From the APP, motion to approve the Data Science program change. According to this original document, this is a program housed in the Computer Science Department and governed along with advisory groups from the key stakeholder departments. Related documents are available here and here.



2023-2024 Officers. Chair: Alexandru Tupan, Vice-Chair: Logan Kelly, Elections Chair: Yoana Newman, Secretary: Doug Margolis, Academic Staff Council Liaison: Kellen Wells-Mangold

- c. Motion to assign the 2023-2024 floating release to the chair of the Assessment Committee, Ross Jilk. This will be in the form of an overload of \$4,500.
- d. Motion to assign the 2024-2025 floating release to the chair of the Assessment Committee. This will add to the already existing release of 3 credits. Consequently, the chair of the Assessment Committee will be awarded a 6-credit release in 2024-2025.
- e. Motion from the Faculty Senate Executive Committee: Realign the Duties of the Academic Standards Committee and the Academic Program and Policy Committee.

 <u>The full text of the motion is here</u>. Auxiliary document <u>available here</u>.
- f. (First reading) Motion from the Executive Committee to revise the membership of the Academic Standards Committee as formulated below. This will be included in the Faculty and Staff Handbook.
 - 3.3.3.2 Academic Standards Committee

1. Membership

- Two (2) faculty from each college (CEBAH, CAFES, CAS) with at least one who is a member of the graduate faculty.
- Dean, or designee, of each college (CEBAH, CAFES, CAS).
- Dean of Students Office representative, as an ex-officio, non-voting member.
- Registrar or designee.
- Up to three (3) students.

IX. Adjournment.

Notices.

The schedule for Spring 2023-2024 is below.
 All meetings are held in the University Center, Willow River Room (334)

April 10, 2024, from 3:30-5:00







2023-2024 Officers. Chair: Alexandru Tupan, Vice-Chair: Logan Kelly, Elections Chair: Yoana Newman, Secretary: Doug Margolis, Academic Staff Council Liaison: Kellen Wells-Mangold

April 24, 2024, from 3:30—5:00 May 8, 2024, from 3:30—5:00